Organized in 1935 to foster, encourage, and promote education and research in the field of plant taxonomy, to include those areas and fields of study that contribute to and bear upon taxonomy and herbaria.


Officers & Committees

Business Office

Linda Brown, Business Office Manager, email: 

 

BOTANY 2017 (FT. WORTH, TEXAS)

Peter Fritsch, pfritsch@brit.org

Botanical Research Institute of Texas (BRIT)

 

ASPT COUNCIL

 

OFFICERS

Jeffrey Doyle, President, email: jjd5@cornell.edu

Tom Ranker, Past-President, email: tom.ranker@gmail.com

Chelsea Specht, President-Elect, email: cdspecht@berkeley.edu

Nyree Zerega, Secretary (2013-2017), email: n-zerega@northwestern.edu

Wendy Clement, Secretary (2017-2020), email: clementw@tcnj.edu

   (Wendy will take over the job as secretary at the meeting in June 2017.)

Austin Mast, Treasurer (2013-2019), email: AMast@bio.fsu.edu

Harvey Ballard, Program Director (2013-2019), email: ballardh@ohio.edu

Warren Wagner, Finance Committee Chair (2014-2017), email: 

 

MEMBERS AT LARGE

Erin Tripp (2014-2017), email: erin.tripp@colorado.edu

Dianella Howarth (2014-2017), email: howarthd@stjohns.edu

Jocelyn Hall (2015-2018), email: jocelyn.hall@ualberta.ca

Chris Martine (2015-2018), email: ctm015@bucknell.edu

Stefanie Ickert-Bond (2016-2019), email: smickertbond@alaska.edu

Shawn Krosnick (2016-2019), email: skrosnick@tntech.edu

 

Systematic Botany

James F. Smith, Editor-in-Chief (2012-2020), email: jfsmith@boisestate.edu 

Daniel Potter, Managing Editor (2013-2016), email: dpotter@ucdavis.edu

Benjamin Van Ee, Managing Editor (2015-2018), e-mail: bvanee@uwalumni.com

Fred R. Barrie, Nomenclature Editor, email: fbarrie@fieldmuseum.org

Kanchi Gandhi, Nomenclature Editor, email: gandhi@oeb.harvard.edu

David Keil (ex officio), Systematic Botany Monographs Editor-in-Chief

Sarina Lambert, Copy Editor, email: systematic.botany.ame@gmail.com   

Associate Editors

Min Feng (2013-2020), e-mail: fengmin@ibcas.ac.cn

Leslie Goertzen (2013-2016), e-mail: goertir@auburn.edu

Don Les (2013-2016), e-mail: les@uconn.edu

Jimmy Triplett (2013-2016), e-mail: jimmytriplett@gmail.com

Marcia Waterway (2013-2016), e-mail: marcia.waterway@mcgill.ca

David Morgan (2013-2016), e-mail: marcia.waterway@mcgill.ca

Michael Moore (2013-2016), e-mail: michael.moore@oberlin.edu

Charles Bell (2013-2020), e-mail: valerianaceae1969@gmail.com

Tim Evans (2013-2020), e-mail: evanstim@gvsu.edu

Mark P. Simmons (2011-2018), e-mail: psimmons@lamar.colostate.edu

Chrissen Gemmill (2010-2018), email: gemmill@waikato.ac.nz

Martin Wojciechowski (2015-2018), email: martin.wojciechowski@asu.edu

Sven Buerki (2015-2018), email: s.buerki@nhm.ac.uk

Carolyn Ferguson (2015-2018), email: ferg@ksu.edu

Jocelyn Hall (2015-2018), email: jocelyn.hall@ualberta.ca

Ricarda Riina (2015-2018), email: rriina@rjb.csic.es

Sasa Stefanovic (2016-2019), e-mail: sasa.stefanovic@utoronto.ca

Alejandra Vasco (2016-2019), e-mail: avascog@gmail.com

Ashley Morris (2017-2020), email: amorris.mtsu@gmail.com

Shengxiang Yu (2017-2020), email: yushengxiang@ibcas.ac.cn

Neil Snow (2017-2020), email: nsnow@pittstate.edu

Susana Freire (2017-2020), email: freire@fcnym.unlp.edu.ar

Liliana Katinas (2017-2020), email: katinas@fcnym.unlp.edu.ar

Jeff M. Saarela (2017-2020), email: jsaarela@mus-nature.ca

 

Systematic Botany Monographs

David Keil,  Editor-in-Chief (2016-2019), email: dkeil@calpoly.edu

Mac Alford, Managing Editor (2011-2015, 2016-2019), email: 

Associate Editors

Erin Tripp (2012-2016), email: erin.tripp@colorado.edu

Bruce Holst (2012-2016), email: bholst@selby.org

Michael Vincent (2013-2017), email: vincenma@miamioh.edu

Blanca León (2013-2017), email: leon@austin.utexas.edu

Tina Ayers (2014-2018), email: tina.ayers@nau.edu

David Barrington (2014-2018), email: david.barrington@uvm.edu

James F. Smith (ex officio 2012-2016), email: jfsmith@boisestate.edu

 

AWARDS AND HONORS COMMITTEE

Graduate Research Grants Subcommittee, Jocelyn Hall, Chair

Honors Subcommittee, Dianella Howarth, Chair

Dianella Howarth, Chair and Council Rep (2015-2017), email: howarthd@stjohns.edu

Jocelyn Hall, Council Rep (2015-2018), email: jocelyn.hall@ualberta.ca

Wendy Clement, member-at-large (2016-2017), email: clementw@tcnj.edu

Nico Cellinese, member-at-large (2016-2017), email: ncellinese@flmnh.ufl.edu

Carl Rothfels, member-at-large (2016-2017), email: crothfels@yahoo.ca

 

COMMUNICATIONS COMMITTEE

Emily Sessa, Communications Coordinator  (2014-2017), email: emilysessa@ufl.edu

Mark Mayfield, Webmaster, email: markherb@ksu.edu

Wendy Clement, Secretary, email: clementw@tcnj.edu

David Keil (ex officio), Systematic Botany Monographs Editor-in-Chief

James F. Smith (ex officio), Systematic Botany Editor-in-Chief

Dianella Howarth (ex officio), Chair, Awards and Honors Committee

Ingrid Jordon-Thaden (ex officio), Chair, Environment and Public Policy Committee

Warren Wagner (ex officio), Chair, Finance Committee

John J. Schenk (ex officio), Chair, Membership Committee

Tom Ranker (ex officio), Chair, Nominations Committee

Angela Hawkins (ex officio), Chair, Promotional Materials Committee

Alina Freire-Fierro (ex officio), Chair, Public Relations Committee

Lena Struwe (ex officio), Chair Publications Committee

Lorena Endara (ex officio), Chair, Systematics Collections Committee

 

ENVIRONMENT AND PUBLIC POLICY COMMITTEE

Ingrid Jordon-Thaden, Chair (2014-2017), email: ijordonthaden@berkeley.edu

Melanie DeVore (2015-2018), email: melanie.devore@gcsu.edu

Andrew Pais (2016-2019), email:  alpais@ncsu.edu

Ashley Egan, (ex officio), AAAS Rep

Janelle Burke, (ex officio), AIBS Rep

Janelle Burke, (ex officio), NSCAS Rep

Rich Rabeler, (ex officio), SPNHC Rep

Andrea Weeks, (ex officio), SHC Rep

 

FINANCE COMMITTEE

Warren Wagner, Chair (2014-2017), email: wagnerw@si.edu

Linda Watson (2014-2017), email: linda.watson10@okstate.edu

Eric Schuettpelz (2015-2018), email: schuettpelze@si.edu

Ken Sytsma (2016-2019), email kjsytsma@wisc.edu

Austin Mast (ex officio), Treasurer

 

MEMBERSHIP COMMITTEE

(new standing committee, rotation is work in progress)

John J. Schenk, Chair (2014-2017), email: jschenk@georgiasouthern.edu

Jim Cohen (2014-2017), email: jcohen@kettering.edu

Cliff Morden (2015-2018), email: cmorden@hawaii.edu

Jesse Adams (ad hoc), Student Rep

 

NOMINATIONS COMMITTEE

Tom Ranker Chair (Past President 2016-2017), email: tom.ranker@gmail.com

Lynn Bohs (2014-2017), email: lmcdade@rsabg.org

Paul Berry (2014-2017), email: peberry@umich.edu

Elizabeth Zimmer (2015-2018), email: zimmerl@si.edu

Lucinda McDade (2013-2019), email: lmcdade@rsabg.org

 

 

PROMOTIONAL MATERIALS COMMITTEE

(formerly Publicity)

Angela Hawkins, Chair (2014-2017), email: ahawkins@bio.tamu.edu

Craig Barrett (2015-2018), email: cfb0001@mail.wvu.edu

Carrie Kiel (2016-2019), email: ckiel@rsabg.org

Leo P. Bruederle, (ex officio) (2016-2017), email: Leo.Bruederle@ucdenver.edu

 

 

PUBLIC RELATIONS COMMITTEE

Alina Freire-Fierro (2014-2017), email: alina.freire@ikiam.edu.ec

Chris Martine (2014-2018), social media, email: ctm015@bucknell.edu

Jason Cantley (2016-2019), email: jtc015@bucknell.edu

Angela Rein McDonnell (student) (2014-2017), email: arein@okstate.edu

 

 

PUBLICATIONS COMMITTEE

Lena Struwe, Chair (2014-2017), email: struwe@aesop.rutgers.edu

Lucinda McDade (2014-2017), email: lmcdade@rsabg.org

Jenny Xiang (2015-2018), email: jenny.xiang.work@gmail.com

David Keil (ex officio), Systematic Botany Monographs Editor-in-Chief

James F. Smith (ex officio), Systematic Botany Editor-in-Chief

Daniel Potter (ex officio), Systematic Botany Managing Editor

Jeff Doyle (ex officio), President

 

 

SYSTEMATICS COLLECTIONS COMMITTEE

Lorena Endara, Chair (2014-2017), email: lendara@flmnh.ufl.edu

Barbara Thiers (2015-2018), email: bthiers@nybg.org

Lucas Majure (2016-2019), email: lmajure@dbg.org

Harlan Svoboda (student rep), email: hs923311@ohio.edu

Richard Rabeler (ex officio), SPNHC Rep

Andrea Weeks (ex officio), SHC Rep

Janelle Burke (ex officio), NSCA Rep

 

 

WEBSITE COMMITTEE

Mark Mayfield, Chair and Webmaster (2015-2018), email: markherb@ksu.edu 

Chris Tyrrell (2015-2018), email: tyrrell@mpm.edu

Amanda Fisher (2016-2019), e-mail: Amanda.Fisher@csulb.edu

Emily Sessa (2013-2017), email: sessa.emily@gmail.com

Jacob Landis  (student rep, 2015-2018), email: jblandis@ufl.edu

Jeff Doyle (ex officio), President

 

 

AD HOC COMMITTEES

NONE at this time

 

REPRESENTATIVES TO OTHER SOCIETIES

BioOne: Eric Schuettpelz (2014-2017), email: SchuettpelzE@si.edu

SHC: Andrea Weeks (2014-2017), email: aweeks3@gmu.edu

AAAS: Ashley Egan, Chair (2014-2017), email: EganA@si.edu

AIBS: Janelle Burke (2014-2017), email: janelle.burke@howard.edu

NSCA: Janelle Burke (2014-2017), email: janelle.burke@howard.edu

SPNHC: Rich Rabeler (2015-2018), email: rabeler@umich.edu