ASPT Award Announcements...


Asa Gray Award

Current nomination deadline: 28 Feb 2019

The Asa Gray Award may be bestowed annually by the Society upon an individual for outstanding accomplishments pertinent to the goals of the Society. The awardee need not be a member of the Society. The awardee shall be recognized at the Annual Dinner and in Systematic Botany.

Previous recipients of the award have been Rogers McVaugh (1984), Arthur Cronquist (1985), Lincoln Constance (1986), Reed C. Rollins (1987), Charles B. Heiser (1988), Rupert C. Barneby (1989), Warren H. Wagner, Jr. (1990), Billie L. Turner (1991), Albert C. Smith (1992), Sherwin Carlquist (1993), Hugh H. Iltis (1994), Jerzy Rzedowski (1995), Peter Raven (1996), Daniel J. Crawford (1997), Ghillean Prance (1998), Tod Stuessey (1999), William T. Stearn (2000), Robert F. Thorne (2001), Natalie Uhl (2002), Beryl B. Simpson (2003), John Beaman (2004), Grady Webster (2005), Pam and Doug Soltis (2006), Scott A. Mori (2007), William R. Anderson (2008), Alan Graham (2009), Harold E. Robinson (2010), Walter S. Judd (2011), Noel and Patricia Holmgren (2012), Bruce Baldwin (2013), Alan Smith (2014) Warren Wagner (2015), Peter Stevens (2016) and Michael Donoghue (2017). 

ASPT members are encouraged to submit nominations for the Asa Gray Award, which will be presented at the Annual Meeting.  Please contact Jocelyn Hall for current nomination information.

Peter Raven Award

Current nomination deadline: 28 Feb 2019

The Peter Raven Award is given by the American Society of Plant Taxonomists to a plant systematist who has made exceptional efforts at outreach to non-scientists. Examples of outreach may include, but are not limited to 1) workshops or seminars for K--12 teachers, local horticultural societies, garden clubs, and schools or businesses; 2) special events for the general public (e.g., nature hikes, wildflower workshops); 3) newspaper columns or op-ed articles; 4) freelance articles in newspapers, on the worldwide web, and in horticultural or popular science magazines; 5) taxon-oriented websites or books that are aimed at a lay audience; 6) TV spots; 7) legislative testimony; and 8) legal defense of rare or endangered plant species. The award is intended to be international in scope. All persons, from any country, who have made significant contributions in this area, may be considered. 

The first recipient of the award was Peter Raven in August 2000, followed by Richard C. Harris (2001), Charles Heiser (2002), Frederick W. Case (2003), David J. Mabberley (2004), Alan W. Meerow (2005), Art Kruckeberg (2006), John T. Mickel (2007), W. Hardy Eshbaugh (2008), Sandra Knapp (2009), Barney Lipscomb (2010), Robbin C. Moran (2011), Ken Cameron (2014), John Weirsema (2015), Lynn Clark (2016) and Hans Walter Lack (2017).

ASPT members are encouraged to submit nominations for the 2018 Peter Raven Award, which will be presented at the 2018 annual meeting. The nomination materials should include a letter of nomination, a fairly complete curriculum vitae for the nominee (emphasizing the outreach areas), and three or more supporting letters from others familiar with the nominee and his or her career. All nomination materials should be submitted electronically as pdf files to Jocelyn Hall.

Engagement and Excellence in Plant Systematics Education Award

Current nomination deadline: 28 Feb 2019

The Engagement and Excellence in Plant Systematics Education Award (EEPSEA) of $500 will be presented to an educator who has implemented or developed innovative resources for engaging students in plant systematics (broadly interpreted):  undergraduate and/or graduate students and in the classroom, laboratory, or outreach setting. Applicants must be an ASPT member and teach at the undergraduate and/or graduate level; may be at any stage in her/his career. Mechanisms for engagement can range from (but are not limited to): whole course syllabi; online teaching materials; software packages; multimedia exercises; classroom, lab, or field modules; textbooks; digital resources; and information manuals. Ideally, any teaching innovation can be shared freely with ASPT to enhance botanical education worldwide. Applicant can be either self-nominated or nominated by an ASPT colleague. 
(previously this was the "IPSEP" award)

Please contact Jocelyn Hall for nomination instructions

ASPT Research Grants for Graduate Students

Current application deadline:   28 Feb 2019   (Guidelines for 2019 applications)

Each year, the ASPT will award a number of graduate student research grants. Some of these are named endowed awards, and are awarded to the highest ranked proposals.  Named awards include the Rogers McVaugh, William R. Anderson, Shirley and Alan Graham, and W. Hardy Eshbaugh Awards. The number of unnamed awards will vary with availability of funds and no award will exceed $1000. These awards are intended to help defray the cost of doing research. You can view the most recent awardee project descriptions by year at the following links: 

award reports: 20152014, 2013, 2012, 2011, 2010

Undergraduate Research Prize (URP)

Current Application deadline: 28 Feb 2019 (Guidelines for application)

ASPT's undergraduate research prize (URP, initiated in Jan 2013), will award up to three ($300) prizes each spring for an outstanding, independent research project in plant systematics (broadly interpreted) completed by an undergraduate student within the last two years. 

Applicant criteria: Must be a current or former student who completed the research as an undergraduate within the last two years, with the guidance/mentorship of an ASPT member.

Nomination: An ASPT member in good standing must nominate the student by completing Part A of the application form, and by writing a nomination letter in support of the student.  


George R. Cooley Award

Each year since 1956, the George R. Cooley Award has been awarded by the ASPT to one of its early-career members for a paper judged to be the best in plant systematics presented the ASPT's annual meeting.  Considered one of the most prestigious early-career recognitions in the plant sciences, the award is named for George R. Cooley, a successful banker who studied plants and worked in conservation in retirement.

From the bylaws: "The George R. Cooley Award may be bestowed annually by the Society upon a botanist in the early stages of his/her career who is judged to have presented the best paper in plant systematics at the Annual Meeting. Members of ASPT who are graduate students or in their first year post conferral of the Ph.D. are eligible. Excellent talks presenting research that is substantially complete, synthetic, and original have been received positively by Cooley Award judges. The research presented, even if collaborative, should be significantly that of the eligible individual, who will be the senior author in most cases. Only one talk per person may be judged in each annual competition, and an individual may win the award only once."

Awards are made to members of ASPT who are graduate students or within one year of their post-doctoral careers for work judged to be substantially complete, synthetic, original, and that is presented in a manner that is clear and engaging.  Past awardees have included: Angela McDonnell (2017); Thomas Stoughton (2016);  Carrie Kiel (2015); Ryan Folk (2014); Ricardo Kriebel (2013).

PDF of past award announcements and abstracts